jump to navigation

Geologic Time Scale January 25, 2010

Posted by tanzaniageologists in Uncategorized.

This geologic time scale shows all the defined units of period rank, along with the eras and eons that comprise them. The periods of the Phanerozoic Eon are further subdivided into epochs; see those in the Phanerozoic Eon geologic time scale. Epochs are further subdivided into ages; see those in the Paleozoic Era, Mesozoic Era and Cenozoic Era geologic time scales.

The Proterozoic and Archean eons, along with the informal Hadean eon before 4000 million years ago, are together called Precambrian time.

The dates shown on this geologic time scale were specified by the International Commission on Stratigraphy in 2009. The colors were specified by the Committee for the Geologic Map of the World in 2009.

Eon Era Period Dates (m.y.)
Phanerozoic Cenozoic Quaternary 3-0
Neogene 23-3
Paleogene 66-23
Mesozoic Cretaceous 146-66
Jurassic 200-145
Triassic 251-200
Paleozoic Permian 299-251
Carboniferous 359-299
Devonian 416-359
Silurian 444-416
Ordovician 488-444
Cambrian 542-488
Proterozoic Neoproterozoic Ediacaran 635-542
Cryogenian 850-635
Tonian 1000-850
Mesoproterozoic Stenian 1200-1000
Ectasian 1400-1200
Calymmian 1600-1400
Paleoproterozoic Statherian 1800-1600
Orosirian 2050-1800
Rhyacian 2300-2050
Siderian 2500-2300
Archean Neoarchean   2800-2500
Mesoarchean   3200-2800
Paleoarchean   3600-3200
Eoarchean   4000-3600
Eon Era Period Dates (m.y.)


No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: